The Amazonas

It was Sunday night when I heard the news. I can’t hide my smile from the moment I opened my laptop to write this post. It was a wonderful news indeed: BOK LORY is finally an AMAZONA!

I am yet to receive the news from either of them, Lory and Boss Ivan, but you know, I have a pretty swell source. No other than, Mush Manelee herself so I guess it’s pretty damn true!

Writing this, I can’t help but look back to the days the three of us occupied the table at the back of the room. We would oftentimes joke around, gossip and study some of those times. But none of it came closer than the times we spent simping over our Dean, anointing ourselves as JP’s angels, even staying behind after the class and “protect” him from “CA”. Now, I think we terrorized the Dean more than we tried protecting him. Perhaps, I could share more stories of those times here.

One of our closest friends were Ivan and Arthur. They were like the real-life Timon and Pumba. Anywhere with these guys meant we would be laughing and have a good time and hakuna matata. Even up to the point where we spent the night in Patag, braved probably two kilometers of dark, chilly night only to call out for Ivan who was just about to enjoy his free motorcycle ride and subject him to the same ordeal that we had back to the resort, only to finish a bottle of tequila and lose our voices the next day. Those were one of the best times.

If law school was PNPA, I was that one student who had to “turn back”. I was not able to graduate with the rest of the gang but graduated with the succeeding batch. For my part, it was because I had to underload and purposely leave some subjects to allow me to still work and pay for my books. But their batch never made me feel left out, it was as if I was still acknowledged. And that only meant I had the best of both worlds. One with my friends, the other with my workmates.

Ivan, Manelee and Lory were all nurses. There was even a joke that surfaced, “I entered law school as a nurse, lalabas akong Amazona.” The joke was always addressed to Manelee because at that time, Lorelyn was with Kiko. Kiko was nice, or so we thought.

The years went by fast. They were arduous but fleeting. They went to graduate and take their Bar, I was left behind in the company of new friends.

I have clearly no grasp of the entire situation but I was there when Ivan confronted Kiko. I was there when we combed through Zone 12A in search of Kiko’s residence to retrieve Lory’s valuables and prized law books. At most, Arthur is the best man to say how these two lovebirds ended up finding love. But, can I at least claim I was one of the few who first knew?

I was probably on my fifth year in law school when Arthur and Ivan contacted me to talk about Kiko. But before that, Kiko first approached me and said that he was having trouble sleeping, that he’s been depressed and is currently taking medications to ease his anxiety. I even told him that I was not aware and that to patiently understand Lory for she might be under a lot of stress for the Bar exams.

And that was stupid of me. Lory, being a kind soul that she is, preferred to suffer in silence rather than burden those around her.

So much for that, their love story best exemplify a fairy tale.

However, I do not wish to think Lory was a damsel in need of saving. Nor was Ivan a knight in shining armor. I think theirs was a love story written before the stars, that they both were right for each other the moment their stars crossed. That there was a red string connecting them two and that no matter what, they were bound to find each other, complement each other, love each other. Theirs was a love story that proved friendship is the lasting foundation of a well-aged love. A relationship that was based on respect, honesty and faith. RESPECT.

In all honesty, I miss them two. I miss the whole gang.

I write not for the audience of the two, I write for the future Amazonas that I know will soon fill their abode with laughter and giggles, with scraped knees and doodled walls. To which I will say:

“Your parents are two of the best persons I know and admire in this world. And I am confident that they can be the best in anything, in marriage, in life, in friendships and in love. Love stories often are tragic but theirs is a proof that love stories can start healthy, subtle, pure and have happy beginnings, too.”

To Ivan and Lory, may the best of your years start from here on onwards. I love you both and thank you for everything! Huhuhuhu I miss you and love you liwat. God bless you and Congratulations!

Leave a comment